SSL certificates

Started by Svetlana, Aug 04, 2022, 03:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

SvetlanaTopic starter

SSL certificates.

Please. Tell me. How are you prefer of  the  type of SSL certificates in formsof protection level?
 What do SSL certificates with technology  SGC mean?


1. Essential SSL certificate - the most demanded among others. All that is required is ownership of the domain name.

2. Instant SSL certificate. Requires rights to a domain, registration of a company or a specific person.

3. SGC SSL certificate is similar to the previous one, but includes support for 40-bit extensions. (required for older OS and browsers).

4. Regular wildcard - also a regular certificate, but issued for the entire system of subdomains of the main domain. (, and others)

5. EV - Extended Validation Certificate - used exclusively by legal entities. The company's ownership of the domain is checked, as well as notarized translations of documents into English. Requires confirmation by someone else.


SGC certificates provide so-called step-up encryption in the visitor's browser and switch it from 40/56 bit encryption to 128/256 bit encryption during a secure session on the site. SGC certificates allow you to provide standard 128/256-bit encryption for all your visitors, including those using legacy and international versions of browsers that support 40/56-bit encryption.

Upgrading encryption with SGC certificates is required for users of the following systems:

Internet Explorer export browser versions 3.02 to 5.5
Netscape export browser versions 4.02 to 4.72
Windows 2000 systems prior to March 2001 without Microsoft's High Encryption Pack or Service Pack 2 updates
(Internet Explorer versions below 3.02 and Netscape versions below 4.02 do not provide 128-bit encryption with any SSL certificate)