SSL certificates

Started by Svetlana, Aug 04, 2022, 03:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

SvetlanaTopic starter

SSL certificates.

Please. Tell me. How are you prefer of  the  type of SSL certificates in formsof protection level?
 What do SSL certificates with technology  SGC mean?


1. Essential SSL certificate - the most demanded among others. All that is required is ownership of the domain name.

2. Instant SSL certificate. Requires rights to a domain, registration of a company or a specific person.

3. SGC SSL certificate is similar to the previous one, but includes support for 40-bit extensions. (required for older OS and browsers).

4. Regular wildcard - also a regular certificate, but issued for the entire system of subdomains of the main domain. (, and others)

5. EV - Extended Validation Certificate - used exclusively by legal entities. The company's ownership of the domain is checked, as well as notarized translations of documents into English. Requires confirmation by someone else.


SGC certificates provide so-called step-up encryption in the visitor's browser and switch it from 40/56 bit encryption to 128/256 bit encryption during a secure session on the site. SGC certificates allow you to provide standard 128/256-bit encryption for all your visitors, including those using legacy and international versions of browsers that support 40/56-bit encryption.

Upgrading encryption with SGC certificates is required for users of the following systems:

Internet Explorer export browser versions 3.02 to 5.5
Netscape export browser versions 4.02 to 4.72
Windows 2000 systems prior to March 2001 without Microsoft's High Encryption Pack or Service Pack 2 updates
(Internet Explorer versions below 3.02 and Netscape versions below 4.02 do not provide 128-bit encryption with any SSL certificate)


There are several types of SSL certificates. Firstly, they differ in the number of domains and subdomains for which they can be used.  according to how exactly the site will be checked, there are three options here:

The first one — DV (domain validation) SSL — confirms the domain, and also encrypts and protects data during transmission using the https protocol. Both individuals and organizations can install it on their website. It is released, as a rule, almost instantly (exactly no longer than 3 hours), after which the lock icon appears on the site (see point 2) and the site becomes protected.

The second is OV (organization validation) SSL — in addition to information protection, the domain belonging to a specific organization is guaranteed. The certificate is issued only to legal entities with a confirmed phone number (before its release, the organization is called). On a site with such a certificate, the user can find information about the organization that owns the site, usually by simply clicking on the lock icon. It is released within 3 days.

The third one is EV (extended validation) — the same as OV, only both the tax and commercial activities of the company are already being checked, and in more detail. The company name appears next to the URL on the website. It is issued within 5 days.

Only DV (domain validation) SSL certificates are delivered free of charge. their reissue is often paid.  such a certificate may not be suitable for some websites, for example, for resources in the financial sector.
But, they can be a great solution as a test drive with the opportunity to save for the first year.